Other Side Introducing: I Cried Wolf

So it is that time again when we at The Other Side Reviews introduce a new band that you should be keeping your eyes on.  This week I chose to stay close to home and my heart.  Here they are: I Cried Wolf.

i-cried-wolf-1

I Cried Wolf are a 5 piece metalcore/hardcore band from a small town in Oxfordshire.  The band have been together since 2012 and released their debut EP Disease this time last year.  The band have a great balance of tone, melody, harmony and ultimately epic heaviness and stand out within the metal scene because of their uniqueness.  They describe themselves as a “hurricane that will make you dance”, and urge fans to “don the wolf mask” and “show us what you’re made of and be a real party wolf.”

The band say they are influenced by some of the metal scenes legends, like Parkway Drive, Bring Me The Horizon and While She Sleeps.  The influences are somewhat obvious, but the style the band actually plays holds a certain ‘je ne c’est quoi’ that makes you want to listen to more.  While sticking to the confines of the metal genre, I Cried Wolf seem to have adapted and evolved, finding their place in the market.

Their EP, Disease, is a 5 track wonder child of the band’s hard work.  Each track as good, if not better, than the last culminating in the most beautiful EP ending I have heard in a long time.

The EP isn’t the only thing going for I Cried Wolf, their Facebook page boasts over 800 likes and for a small town band they seem to being doing pretty well for themselves.  They have played with bands such as Bleed from Within and more recently Hacktivist in the Oxford O2 Academy.  They currently have news of their first headline show in Bristol on November 24th , but still stay true to themselves playing local gigs in their hometown of Banbury – the most recent being an unforgettable Halloween show with rock legends Leatherat.

I Cried Wolf are a band somewhat close to my heart.  I have literally watched one of the members grow and mature since age 11, and to see him now in a band I can 100% say I love with minimal bias makes me so happy and proud.  With regular radio airplay and constant gigging – they have even reached No. 1 on the Reverbnation metal charts – it is about time they were scooped up by a label.

If you want to hear more of I Cried Wolf you can find them on Facebook, Twitter, Soundcloud and Reverbnation.  You can also buy their debut EP Disease on iTunes, and then have a read of our review of it here:

I Cried Wolf – Disease (2012)

Leave some love.

